Beauty of Colors: A Little History of Lingnan School of Painting


Beauty of Colors: A Little History of Lingnan School of Painting

By Guangdong Federation of Literary and Art Circles

Guangdong Institute for Literature and Art

Hardback ISBN: 978-1-84464-678-4

Ebook ISBN: 978-1-84464-679-1

Hardback - 110 pages

November 2021

English

£65 €78 $98






 


Description:

The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area Culture: Three Treasures of Lingnan Series is a set of brief and illustrated introductions to three traditional art forms -- Guangdong opera, Lingnan school of painting and Guangdong music -- in south China. We hope these three riveting books, including Love on the Stage, Beauty of Colors and Cadence of Strings, can attract more overseas readers who love Chinese and Lingnan culture to explore further their artistic and unique charm and history.


Beauty of Colors: A Little History of Lingnan School of Painting tells the history, development and influence of the Lingnan School of painting. It also introduces masters of the school including Gao Jianfu, Gao Qifeng, Chen Shuren and so on. The status of Lingnan Painting in China can also be found in this book.


Since the beginning of reform and opening up in 1978 and with the rise of China's economy, Chinese culture has become more and more influential in the world. As an important part of Chinese culture, Lingnan culture plays a key role and it manifests itself most notably in art, Cantonese opera, architecture and food. More and more young people of the overseas Chinese need to know the root and development of culture of their parents and ancestors. Moreover, international readers who are interested in Chinese culture and history also want to learn this remarkable and robust culture.




 

Content:

Preface

A Storming Past—The History of Lingnan School of Painting

Gestation: Tradition and Initiation

New Voice: The Debut of “New Chinese Painting”

Identity Established: Contending for the Replacement of the Old with the New

Prosperity: The Rise of Lingnan School of Painting to Save the Nation with Art

Succession: The New Height by Contemporary Masters

The Hybrid Art Integrating the East and the West—The Artistic Features of Lingnan School of Painting

Incorporation of the East and the West, the Past and the Present

Realistic Practice Emphasizing Both Content and Form

The Highbrow and the Lowbrow to Paint the Age

Stars Lightening Chinese Fine Arts—The Masters of Lingnan School of Painting

Gao Jianfu: The Soul of Lingnan School of Painting

Chen Shuren: Travelling Painter with Diversified Colors

Gao Qifeng: A Sage of Lingnan Painting

Guan Shanyue: My Landscape My Soul

Li Xiongcai: Li’s Landscape and Li’s Pine Trees

Zhao Shao’ang: Successor in South China

Yang Shanshen: Ink Painting Master of Lingnan School

Fang Rending: A Lifelong Chinese Painting Reforme

Change and Reform—Influence and Dissemination of Lingnan School of Painting

Pioneers: The Driving Force of Chinese Painting Reform

Development: Enriching and Spreading Lingnan Culture

Heritance: Cultivation of Fine Arts Talents

Afterwards


 

Author:

Guangdong Federation of Literary and Art Circles is a provincial non-governmental organization in Guangdong province. Its mission is to unite and serve writers and artists, to train literary and art talents, and to promote the development and prosperity of literature and arts in the province.


Guangdong Institute for Literature and Art is an organization specialized in serving the provincial writers and artists to carry out their studies in the related fields.